Guide to Archives - The Vestry

The Vestry, 1694-1982

The Vestry is the governing Board that manages the affairs of the Parish. It is composed of the Rector, two Church-Wardens and twenty Vestrymen, all of whom (except for the Rector) are elected annually. Members are parish, community, and business leaders nominated from various fields to fill the significant stewardship needs of the Parish of Trinity Church, such as ministry, outreach, investment, and property management. Prominent vestrymen of the past have included John Jay, Rufus King, Richard Harison, James Duane, Philip Hone, and George Templeton Strong.