Compline by Candlelight

Sundays at 8pm
St. Paul’s Chapel (unless otherwise noted)
The Choir of Trinity Wall Street
Free
 

Compline by Candlelight provides peace and stillness as one week ends and another begins. Set in the tranquility of St. Paul’s Chapel, one of the oldest buildings in New York City, guests find a seat and hold a candle, while 30 minutes of mantra-like, chant-based improvised music by The Choir of Trinity Wall Street fill the space. There’s nothing to do but listen.

Listen to Compline podcasts or watch our video podcasts.

 

A Reflective Ritual
 
 

Choir member Jonathan Woody takes you inside Compline by Candlelight.

 

Upcoming


Sunday, July 28, 2019

Repertoire to be decided


Sunday, August 4, 2019

Repertoire to be decided


Sunday, August 11, 2019

Repertoire to be decided


Sunday, August 18, 2019

Repertoire to be decided


Sunday, August 25, 2019

Repertoire to be decided


Sunday, September 1, 2019

Repertoire to be decided


Sunday, September 8, 2019

Repertoire to be decided


Sunday, September 15, 2019 at 8pm

Heinrich Schütz – Verleih uns Frieden


Sunday, September 22, 2019 at 8pm

Heinrich Schütz – So far ich hin


Sunday, September 29, 2019 at 8pm
Chapel of All Saints, Trinity Church

Repertoire to be decided


Sunday, October 6, 2019 at 8pm

Maurice Duruflé – Ubi Caritas


Sunday, October 13, 2019 at 8pm

Charles Villiers Stanford – Beati Quorum Via


Sunday, October 20, 2019 at 8pm

Julian Wachner – Seek the Lord


Sunday, October 27, 2019 at 8pm

William Byrd – Ave verum corpus


Sunday, November 3, 2019 at 8pm

William Harris – Faire is the heaven


Sunday, November 10, 2019 at 8pm

Stephen Paulus – Pilgrim’s Hymn


Sunday, November 17, 2019 at 8pm

Josquin des Pres – Ave Maria


Sunday, November 24, 2019 at 8pm

Thomas Tallis – If Ye Love Me


Sunday, December 1, 2019 at 8pm

Palestrina – An Advent Responsory


Sunday, December 8, 2019 at 8pm

Benjamin Britten – Hymn to the Virgin


Sunday, December 15, 2019 at 8pm

Sergei Rachmaninoff – Bogoroditsye Dyevo


Sunday, December 22, 2019 at 8pm
Chorister Compline by Candlelight

Trinity Youth Chorus; Melissa Attebury, conductor
Benjamin Britten – Ceremony of Carols


Sunday, December 29, 2019 at 8pm

Francis Poulenc – O magnum mysterium


Sunday, January 5, 2020 at 8pm

J. S. Bach – Komm, Jesu komm


Sunday, January 12, 2020 at 8pm

William Harris – Faire is the heaven


Sunday, January 19, 2020 at 8pm

Julian Wachner – Regina Coeli


Sunday, January 26, 2020 at 8pm

Charles Wood – Hail gladdening light


Sunday, February 2, 2020 at 8pm

Edward Naylor – Vox dicentes: clama!


Sunday, February 9, 2020 at 8pm

Julian Wachner – Hospital Anthem


Sunday, February 16, 2020 at 8pm

Arnold Bax – Lord, thou hast told us


Sunday, February 23, 2020 at 8pm

Trevor Weston – Given Sound


Sunday, March 1, 2020 at 8pm

John Shepherd – Gaude, Gaude, Gaude Maria


Sunday, March 8, 2020 at 8pm

William Byrd – Domine, Exaudi Orationem Meam, Inclina


Sunday, March 15, 2020 at 8pm

Bo Holten – In nomine


Sunday, March 22, 2020 at 7pm, Lenten Concert, 8pm, Compline Service
Chorister Lenten Concert and Compline by Candlelight

Trinity Youth Chorus; Melissa Attebury, conductor
Pergolesi – Stabat Mater

The Trinity Youth Chorus presents Pergolesi’s celebrated Stabat Mater, featuring the Trinity Baroque Orchestra and soloists from the choir. Followed by Compline by Candlelight, sung by the Trinity Youth Chorus.


Sunday, March 29, 2020 at 8pm

Josquin Des pres – Qui habitat


Sunday, April 5, 2020 at 8pm

Gabriel Jackson – Hymn to St. Margaret of Scotland


Sunday, April 19, 2020 at 8pm

Antoine Busnois – Gaude caelestis Domina


Sunday, April 26, 2020 at 8pm

William Byrd – Tribulatio Proxima Est


Sunday, May 3, 2020 at 8pm

Bent Sorensen – In Paradisum


Sunday, May 10, 2020 at 8pm

John Dunstable – Veni Sancte Spiritus


Sunday, May 17, 2020 at 8pm

John Taverner – Dum transisset Sabbatum


Sunday, May 24, 2020 at 8pm

Heitor Villa-Lobos – Bachianas Brasileiras No. 9: Prelude and Fugue


Sunday, May 31, 2020 at 8pm

Tarik O’Regan – I Sleep, But My Heart Waketh


Sunday, June 7, 2020 at 8pm

Richard Strauss – Der Abend


Sunday, June 14, 2020 at 8pm

Repertoire to be decided


Sunday, June 21, 2020 at 8pm

Johannes Ockeghem – Deo Gratia a 36
Thomas Tallis – Spem in alium